Nippon Medical School

Graduate School

Home> Graduate School> Introduction of Graduate School

Introduction of Graduate School

Established in 1960, The Graduate School of Nippon Medical School (NMS) is one of the oldest private graduate schools of medicine in Japan. In the long history of more than 50 years of education, it has granted to date more than 3,300 students with Ph.D. degrees.

In 2002, NMS was the first private school to announce of prioritizing graduate education, which was a move made in accordance with the government policy. Since then, the graduate school has improved its education system and research environment. NMS has successively obtained two large multidisciplinary research projects, such as ‘Strategic Research Foundation Grant-aided Project for Private Universities,’ granted by Ministry of Education, Culture, Sport, Science, and Technology.

The graduate school currently holds 47 departments within 6 fields of specialties. The new graduate school building, which was completed in 2007, consists of 3 stories below ground and 4 stories above ground. The building contains newly constructed laboratories and conference rooms. It is also fully provided with the latest research equipment.

To date, the graduate school has established a system that accepts a wide range of students. It has also prepared a full complement of equipment. By leveraging this ideal educational environment, the mission of the graduate school is to produce as many highly qualified clinicians and researchers.

Graduate Program

Field Department and Division
Physiology Department of Molecular Medicine and Anatomy
Department of Anatomy and Neurobiology
Department of Physiology
Department of Bioregulatory Science
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Department of Molecular and Medical Genetics
Department of Pharmacology
Pathology Department of Analytic Human Pathology
Department of Integrated Diagnostic Pathology
Department of Micriobiology and Immunology
Social Medicine Department of Hygiene and Public Health
Department of Legal Medicine
Department of Health Policy and Management
Aging Science Department of Cell Biology
Department of Molecular Biology
Department of Molecular Pathology
Department of Bioregulation
Department of Molecular Oncology
Department of Life Information Sciences
Internal Medicine Department of Cardiovascular Medicine
Department of Neurological Science
Department of Nephrology
Department of Allergy and Collagen Disease Science
Department of Hematology
Department of Gastroenterology
Department of Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism
Department of Pulmonary Medicine and Oncology
Department of Neuropsychiatry
Department of Pediatrics
Department of Clinical Radiology
Department of Cutaneous and Mucosal Pathophysiology
Department of Comprehensive Medicine and Health Science
Department of Rehabilitation Medicine
Surgical Medicine Department of Gastrointestinal and Hepato-Biliary-Pancreatic Surgery
Department of Breast Surgery
Department of Endocrine Surgery
Department of Thoracic Surgery
Department of Cardiovascular Surgery
Department of Neurosurgery
Department of Orthopaedic Surgery
Department of Reproductive Medicine, Perinatology and Gynecologic Oncology
Department of Head & Neck and Sensory Organ Science
Department of Urology
Department of Ophthalmology
Department of Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine
Department of Emergency and Critical Care Medicine
Department of Plastic,
Reconstructive and Regenerative Surgery